You are here : Home > CNG > GENMED

Headlines


GENMED

Published on 25 October 2016

The MEDical GENomics excellence laboratory, GENMED, has the objective of promoting the development of research projects on human diseases which are competitive at national and international level. Thus, GENMED evaluates, develops and sets up, in a high-throughput production environment, new-generation technologies and methodologies combined with integrated analysis of genomic data.

GENMED is coordinated by Dr. Jean-François Deleuze, Scientific Director of the Jean Dausset Foundation -CEPH and Director of the National Center for Genotyping (CNG‑IG-CEA). GENMED is copiloted by Prof. François Cambien, INSERM emeritus Research Director. GENMED results from the collaboration of three partners: 

  1. the Jean Dausset Foundation -CEPH,
  2. UMR_S-1166 INSERM/Université Pierre et Marie Curie, 'Genomics and pathophysiology of cardiovascular diseases' team,
  3. the IG-CEA National Genotyping Center.


GENMED is organized in support of 4 principal focuses:

  1. The use of new high-throughput approaches based on new-generation sequencing including sequencing of the exome, whole-genome sequencing and analyses of expression and epigenetic modifications.
  2. Study of collections of sufficient size and particularly well characterized at phenotypic level to ensure the success of those approaches.
  3. Development of high-throughput functional genomics to investigate, for example, the functional consequences of the genetic or epigenetic variations identified by the genome-scale approaches.
  4. Development, evaluation and setup of new methods for the processing and quality control of genomic, transcriptomic and epigenomic data and their integration using appropriate statistical and bioinformatics methodologies.


The shared objectives of GENMED are as follows:

  1. Cooperating on projects with high medical genomics potential,
  2. Exploiting the data generated,
  3. Promoting interactions and communication between collaborators,
  4. Developing between-team synergies designed to enhance GENMED.


GENMED has financing of € 10.8 million over an 8-year period enabling GENMED to conduct 8 innovative projects in the fields of personalized medicine and translational medicine on a national and international scale. The projects consist in identification of new targets or biomarkers in several diseases such as autism, dilated cardiomyopathy, rare diseases, breast cancer and Alzheimer's disease. The strategy implemented should be deployable for other diseases and thus enable major advances.

In particular, GENMED is to support 'patrimonial' projects such as:

  1. Whole-genome sequencing of several hundred French subjects, which may be used as a reference by the entire scientific community,
  2. Development of an innovative database promoting information sharing.

GENMED is also to promote education and training in the field of medical genomics through its partnership with the UPMC and UEVE. With its portfolio and network of partners, GENMED has the ambition of being a significant player in the organization of genomic medicine in France.

Find out more about GENMED:  www.genmed.fr​

 

 LABEX GENMED - CEA/IG/CNG Launch Meeting

Vous êtes ici : Accueil > CNG > GENMED

GENMED

Publié le 26 octobre 2016

Le Laboratoire d'excellence en GENomique MEDicale, GENMED a pour objectif de promouvoir le développement de projets de recherche, sur des pathologies humaines, compétitifs à l'échelle nationale et internationale. Ainsi, GENMED évalue, développe et met en place, dans un environnement de production à haut débit, les technologies et méthodologies de nouvelle génération combinées à l'analyse intégrée des données de génomique.

Il est coordonné par le Dr. Jean-François Deleuze, Directeur Scientifique de la Fondation Jean Dausset-CEPH et Directeur du Centre National de Génotypage (CNG-IG-CEA). Il est co-piloté par le Pr. François Cambien, Directeur de Recherche émérite INSERM. GENMED résulte de la collaboration de trois partenaires,

  1.  la Fondation Jean Dausset-CEPH,
  2.  l'UMR_S-1166 INSERM/Université Pierre et Marie Curie, équipe « Génomique et pathophysiologie des maladies cardiovasculaires »,
  3.  le Centre National de Génotypage-IG-CEA.

 

GENMED est organisé autour de 4 axes principaux,

  1. L'utilisation de nouvelles approches, à haut débit, basées sur le séquençage de nouvelle génération incluant le séquençage de l'exome, de l'ensemble du génome, les analyses d'expression et les modifications épigénétiques,
  2.  L'étude de collections de taille adéquate très bien caractérisées du point de vue phénotypique pour assurer le succès des approches,
  3.  Le développement de la génomique fonctionnelle à haut débit pour explorer par exemple les conséquences fonctionnelles des variations génétiques ou épigénétiques identifiées par les approches à l'échelle du génome,
  4. Le développement, l'évaluation et la mise en place de nouvelles méthodes pour le traitement et le contrôle de qualité des données de type génomique, transcriptomique ou épigénomique ainsi que leur intégration en utilisant des méthodologies statistiques et bio-informatiques adaptées.

 

Les objectifs partagés de GENMED sont,

  1. Collaborer sur des projets à fort potentiel en génomique médicale,
  2. Valoriser les données générées,
  3. Favoriser les interactions et la communication entre les collaborateurs,
  4. Développer des synergies entre les équipes visant à enrichir GENMED.

 

GENMED bénéficie d'un financement de 10.8 millions d'euros sur une période de 8 ans, lui permettant de mener à bien 8 projets innovants dans les domaines de la médecine personnalisée et de la médecine translationnelle à l'échelle nationale et internationale. Ces projets concernent l'identification de nouvelles cibles ou de biomarqueurs dans plusieurs maladies, telles que l'autisme, la cardiomyopathie dilatée, les maladies rares, le cancer du sein ou la maladie d'Alzheimer. La stratégie mise en œuvre devrait pouvoir être déployée à d'autres pathologies et ainsi permettre des avancées majeures.

En particulier, GENMED soutiendra des projets patrimoniaux comme :

  1. le séquençage whole genome de plusieurs centaines d'individus français qui pourront être utilisés comme référence par l'ensemble de la communauté scientifique,
  2. le développement d'une base de données innovante favorisant le partage de l'information.

 

GENMED favorisera également l'éducation et la formation dans le domaine de la génomique médicale grâce à son partenariat avec l'UPMC et l'UEVE. Fort de ce portefeuille et de son réseau de partenaires, GENMED ambitionne d'être un acteur significatif de l'organisation de la médecine génomique en France.

En savoir plus sur GENMED:  www.genmed.fr

 

 Réunion de lancement du LABEX GENMED - CEA/IG/CNG